The Tigers are a professional ice hockey team playing in the English Premier League (EPIHL). Based at Telford Ice Rink, in Shropshire, the club enjoys a loyal fanbase, drawn from across the West Midlands and beyond.

Over the last 30 years, the Tigers have developed a reputation for hard-fought, but fair, matches against some of the biggest names in British ice hockey.

It was in 1985 that “Telford Tigers” were formed, after the opening of the rink a year earlier. The Tigers attracted crowds of up to 2,500 supporters during those formative years, as a number of players from close rivals Solihull Barons joined up.

During the 1987/88 season, the club secured its first league title, winning the First Division championship in a play-off against Cleveland Bombers. Promotion to the Premier League, however, was to prove elusive, as the Tigers narrowly lost out in a promotion/relegation play-off against Peterborough Pirates.

Further glory followed for the side, as they won the Autumn Trophy in 1994, while finishing second in the league. 1997 was another trophy-winning year, as the Tigers secured the Upper Deck Christmas Cup, while again narrowly missing out on the league title.

Following a period in the English National League and EPIHL as the Telford Wildfoxes, the Tigers returned in 2006 and reclaimed their position as fans’ favourites. 2009 saw the club reformed as a wholly fans-owned organisation – the first such venture in ice hockey. The team put together by Head Coach Tom Watkins quickly developed a reputation for springing surprise results in the semi-professional EPIHL.

In 2015, Telford Tigers won the English Premier League title by some distance, before collecting the British Challenge Cup in a thrilling final against Manchester Phoenix. The next season, a largely unchanged side finish fourth in the EPL.

The Tigers are currently owned by Telford Ice Sports.